EXO - Photo credit: SM Entertainment

EXO Returns With New Album, ‘EXIST’

EXO, one of K-pop’s most formidable boybands, is back with a new album, ‘EXIST’available here via SM Entertainment.

Renowned for their solid vocals and harmonies, this cohesive nine-track body of work hears them fuse R&B with slick, rhythmic pop with top-tier productions befitting of their title as “Kings of K-Pop.”
‘EXIST’, the group’s seventh studio album – has been so titled as to signify that “EXO exists in every moment.” The omnipresence described is amplified by the group’s sumptuous roll-out out for this new era.
Accompanying the album release today is the irresistible pop dance track, ‘Cream Soda’, co-written and co-produced by British hitmaker Tre-Jean Marie, best known for his work with Craig David and Little Mix. A euphoric track, coloured by catchy melodies, compares the sensation of falling in love to an irrepressible cream soda bubbling over. You can watch the music video below.

EXO 엑소 'Cream Soda' MV

Two singles have already dropped from ‘EXIST’, the yearning R&B ballad, ‘Let Me In’, which marked EXO’s first release in more than two years. The track was accompanied by a poignant music video which saw the members finding their way to one another as a meteor strikes Earth. You can watch the music video for ‘Let Me In’ below.

EXO 엑소 'Let Me In' MV

‘Hear Me Out’, the second single from ‘EXIST’, shows EXO’s more romantic side, as they sing to a person who is cautious about falling in love:

“Hear me out, hear me out…thinking too much messes with your flow. Let’s not waste any more time. Gonna be true to every moment.”

In stark contrast to the solitude of the ‘Let Me In’ video, ‘Hear Me Out’ sees the EXO boys reunited, and hanging out at a house party, reminiscent of care-free, summer road trips. Watch the music video for ‘Hear Me Out’ below:

EXO 엑소 'Hear Me Out' MV

Bringing with it the nostalgia of 90s RnB boybands, album highlight ‘Regret It’ sees EXO slow off their talents and abilities by effortlessly switching between free-flowing rap verses to pristine vocal harmonies. ‘Love Fool’, another stand-out track, mixes glistening 80s style R&B touches with retro synths.
Album track list:
01 Cream Soda
02 Regret It
03 Hear Me Out
04 Private Party
05 Cinderella 
06 No Make Up
07 Love Fool
08 Another Day
09 Let Me In

Follow EXO online for more about the group and their music on Instagram, TwitterTikTok, and YouTube.

About the author

Lisa has been writing for over 20 years, starting as the entertainment editor on her university newspaper. Since then she's written for Popwrapped, Maximum Pop, Celebmix, and ListenOnRepeat.

Lisa loves all good music, with particular fondness for Jedward and David Bowie. She's interviewed Edward Grimes (Jedward), Kevin Godley, Trevor Horn, Paul Young, Peter Cox (Go West), Brendan B Brown (Wheatus), Bruce Foxton (The Jam), among many many more. Lisa is also available for freelance writing - please email lisa@essentiallypop.com

Leave a Reply