Ryan Beatty Unveils His Third Album, ‘Calico’

Today, American singer/songwriter Ryan Beatty is proud to present his third studio album, ‘Calico’, via Atlantic Records UK/Elektra US. He also shares the album’s visual accompaniment directed by revered Belgian artist, Peter De Potter. 

Comprising nine tracks and co-produced by Ryan and Ethan Gruska, Ryan shares the endless nuances of his interior life on his new album, quietly exploring the tension between protecting our hearts and longing for connection that can only come from true vulnerability.

‘Calico’ matches Ryan’s lyrical revelations with a luminously detailed sound that inspires endless fascination despite its great subtlety.

Album opener and previous single, ‘Ribbons’, is a sublimely wistful piece rooted in Gruska’s delicate piano work alongside strings, celestial synth, and hypnotic steel guitar melodies, courtesy of Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon. The song is laced with lovingly rendered images of lonesome sunrises and California freeways.

“What I love about ‘Ribbons’ is that the music says so much on its own,” Ryan points out. “Especially in the last minute, it feels like finally exhaling after holding something in for so long.”

Ryan’s new single ‘Bruises Off The Peach’ overflows with delightful melodies and lush harmonies, underpinning an exceptional vocal performance from the young Californian artist. The dreamlike and gently haunting ‘Hunter’ – where the album takes its title from – marked a significant breakthrough for Ryan in accessing the unfettered openness that infuses all of ‘Calico’.

Conveyed with poetic specificity and stunning directness, openness manifests in a vast expanse of lyrical forms, each presented in his stark and softly emotive vocals.

For ‘Calico’, Ryan and Ethan mainly recorded at historic Valentine Recording Studios and Rick Rubin’s Shangri-La, working with a lineup of musicians including guitarist Dylan Day (Jenny Lewis, Laura Veirs), drummer Matt Chamberlain (Lorde, Brandi Carlile), saxophonist Sam Gendel (Sylvan Esso, Perfume Genius), string arranger Rob Moose (FKA twigs, Laura Marling), and Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon, who contributed additional production and instrumentation.

Mixed by Shawn Everett (The War on Drugs, HAIM), Calico moves further into the free-form yet gracefully sculpted sound Ryan explored on 2020’s ‘Dreaming of David’. Ryan embraced a deliberately slow-paced and often meditative process throughout the making of ‘Calico’. He made his way to the kind of confidence and conviction that leaves a profound imprint on audiences and artist alike. The result is a timeless and transportive body of work, providing abundant space for the transformation and healing that led to its creation. 

‘Calico’ by Ryan Beatty is out now via Atlantic Records UK/Elektra US,

‘Calico’ Tracklist:
1. Ribbons
2. Bruises Off The Peach
3. Cinnamon Bread
4. Andromeda
5. Bright Red
6. Hunter
7. White Teeth
8. Multiple Endings
9. Little Faith

Stream and download ‘Calico’ here. Watch the video for ‘Calico’ here. Stream ‘Bruises Off The Peach’ here.

About the author

There’s a lot of music out there - good music. At Essentially Pop our remit is that we cover music that deserves to be heard, with a particular focus on independent artists. That doesn't mean we won't cover your old favourites - rather we hope to give you some new favourites as well.

We no longer accept unpaid PR agency work. We believe the creative arts have value, and this includes writing. As always, we will write about artists who contact us - or who we contact - for free - but we can no longer work free of charge for PR agencies. We work hard, we put in a lot of hours writing, and we ask that you respect that. Contact us for our very reasonable rates.

Follow us on: Twitter, Google+, Tumblr, Pinterest, Instagram, Myspace, Facebook, Spotify, Youtube. Drop us an email on hello@essesntiallypop.com

Leave a Reply