Lights Announces Album ‘Skin&Earth Acoustic’ Set For Release 12 July

Canadian alt/pop artist Lights celebrates her recent signing to the Fueled By Ramen label (home to the likes of All Time Low, Paramore, and Twenty One Pilots, among others) with the announcement that her new album ‘Skin&Earth Acoustic’ will be released on July 12.

The record consists of seven stripped-back re-imaginings of seven of the tracks which appeared on her award-winning 2017 release, ‘Skin&Earth’, plus three brand new songs, ‘Lost Girls’, ‘Tabs’, and ‘Down Forever’. Lights revealed the music video for ‘Lost Girls’ earlier this month:

Lights- Lost Girls [Official Music Video]

On top of this, Lights has just shared her newly-recorded version of the gorgeous ‘Skydiving’, which provides a showcase for her soft, yet soaring vocals. You can watch it here:

Lights-  Skydiving (Cliff Recording) [The Making Of]

‘Skin&Earth’ was recorded, produced, and mixed by Lights, with the seven acoustic updates recorded directly in their corresponding environments, previously brought to life in the project’s accompanying graphic novel of the same title. Each track will be released alongside a visual showing the ambitious and sometimes arduous recording process, which was shot by her husband, Beau Bokan. Pre-order ‘Skin&Earth Acoustic’ here.

The Canadian songstress has just wrapped up a UK tour, including sold-out stops in Manchester, London and Glasgow. Additionally, Lights made her Slam Dunk Festival debut in Leeds and Hatfield. This Summer will see Lights head off on a very special, and nearly already sold-out, ‘Skin&Earth Acoustic Tour’ across North America; an intimate experience featuring new music along with a full band and string performances. Further information is available here.

Following the release of her deadmau5 collaboration, ‘Drama Free’, which also features on Netflix film Polar, Lights joined the acclaimed DJ/producer and fellow Canadian on stage at Ultra Music Festival in Miami this spring. You can relive all the action here. It has also been announced that Lights will be heading out as a featured guest on deadmau5’s US tour this Autumn. Tickets are available here.

The tracklisting for ‘Skin&Earth Acoustic is as follows:

1. Skydiving (Cliff Recording)

2. Until the Light (Truck Cab Recording)

3. Savage (Rain Recording)

4. New Fears (Bedroom Recording)

5. We Were Here (Tunnel Recording)

6. Kicks (River Recording)

7. Almost Had Me (Desert Recording)

8. Tabs

9. Lost Girls

10. Down Forever

You can follow Lights online on her Official Website, Facebook, TwitterInstagram, and YouTube.

About the author

There’s a lot of music out there - good music. At Essentially Pop our remit is that we cover music that deserves to be heard, with a particular focus on independent artists. That doesn't mean we won't cover your old favourites - rather we hope to give you some new favourites as well.

We no longer accept unpaid PR agency work. We believe the creative arts have value, and this includes writing. As always, we will write about artists who contact us - or who we contact - for free - but we can no longer work free of charge for PR agencies. We work hard, we put in a lot of hours writing, and we ask that you respect that. Contact us for our very reasonable rates.

Follow us on: Twitter, Google+, Tumblr, Pinterest, Instagram, Myspace, Facebook, Spotify, Youtube. Drop us an email on