James Blunt Releases New Single ‘Champions’ Ahead Of New Album ‘Once Upon A Mind’ Out October 25 And 2020 UK Tour

James Blunt has today revealed the beautifully uplifting new track, ‘Champions’, the second to be taken from his upcoming sixth studio album, ‘Once Upon A Mind’, which is set for release on October 25th via Atlantic Records.

To coincide with the release, James has also unveiled an acoustic performance of ‘Champions’. Filmed at The Pool Studio in London, James and his band perform a captivatingly beautiful stripped back version.

James Blunt - Champions [Acoustic] [Live From The Pool]

Speaking of the heartfelt track he said,

“Either we win this thing together, or we die alone. I believe in us”.

James will also head out on a major UK and European tour including a must-see show at London’s Royal Albert Hall on April 7th. James plays the following UK shows.


14 BIRMINGHAM, Arena Birmingham
15 MANCHESTER, Manchester Arena
16 HULL, Bonus Arena
17 NEWCASTLE, Utilita Arena
19 GLASGOW, SEC Armadillo
20 NOTTINGHAM, Nottingham Arena
21 CARDIFF, Cardiff Arena
22 BRIGHTON, Brighton Centre


7 LONDON, Royal Albert Hall

News of James’ new album has been met with huge support across the board from fans and media alike. Following an outpouring of love on social media, he took to The One Show on BBC One to perform a stunning acoustic version of ‘Cold’, complete with a Gospel Choir.

On the new album, James has worked with a variety of producers including Steve Robson, Jimmy Hogarth and TMS. Highlights are many and include the poignant ballad ‘Monsters’, the pop swagger of ‘5 Miles’ and the country tinged ‘Halfway.’ There’s a warmth that permeates the entire album, and a real sense of personality.

James Blunt released that classic first album, ‘Back To Bedlam’, in the autumn of 2004 and soon after the single ‘You’re Beautiful’ became a global smash hit. He has sold over 23 million albums and has showcased his wit and charm more recently with his always engaging Twitter account. Find out more about James on his website. Stream and download ‘Champions’ here. Pre-order ‘Once Upon A Mind’ here.

About the author

There’s a lot of music out there - good music. At Essentially Pop our remit is that we cover music that deserves to be heard, with a particular focus on independent artists. That doesn't mean we won't cover your old favourites - rather we hope to give you some new favourites as well.

We no longer accept unpaid PR agency work. We believe the creative arts have value, and this includes writing. As always, we will write about artists who contact us - or who we contact - for free - but we can no longer work free of charge for PR agencies. We work hard, we put in a lot of hours writing, and we ask that you respect that. Contact us for our very reasonable rates.

Follow us on: Twitter, Google+, Tumblr, Pinterest, Instagram, Myspace, Facebook, Spotify, Youtube. Drop us an email on hello@essesntiallypop.com

Leave a Reply