S Club - photo credit: Leigh Keily

Famed Pop Group S Club Release First Single In 20 Years

Yesterday, the legendary chart-topping British pop icons S Club reunited to release their first piece of music in 20 years – a single, titled ‘These Are The Days’, released in memory of Paul Cattermole, who died earlier this year due to heart failure. Accompanied by a music video which shows the group’s members looking through photographs and memoirs of their history, the song has already achieved great success and acclaim, seen as a perfect tribute to both Cattermole and S Club 7’s legacy.

The idea for S Club 7 came around in 1997, when music executive Simon Fuller (former Spice Girls manager) put an ad in ‘The Stage’ newspaper looking for singers for his newest group. With over 10,000 applicants, most of the members of S Club 7 were picked from these applicants, except for Rachel Stevens, who was approached by producers working for Fuller. The members developed great chemistry with each other, and got to work straight away on their debut album, titled ‘S Club’, which released in 1999 to great success. The group released 3 more albums until their untimely breakup in 2003 due to exhaustion and financial issues, and ended up pursuing solo projects for most of the next 2 decades. However, earlier this year, they announced a 25th anniversary tour reunion, but this was cut short by the tragic passing of Cattermole. ‘These Are The Days’ was released in memory of him.

The song is a classic throwback to the group’s older chart-topping style of music from the late 90s/early 00s, featuring all alive members except for Hannah Spearritt, who is still mourning the loss of Cattermole. In the song, the members reminisce on the good times they spent together as S Club 7 earlier in their lives, and how quickly it all went by. It also comes with a music video, showing nostalgic photographs of the group. Overall, the song is a perfect tribute to Cattermole and his incredible life, and helps us remember just how legendary S Club 7 was back in the day.

‘These Are The Days’ is out now via Universal Music UK as part of a brand new global partnership, and can be streamed and downloaded here.
Catch S Club On “The Good Times” Tour at the following:

12 Oct Manchester AO Arena
13 Oct Liverpool M&S Bank Arena
14 OctSheffield Utilita Arena
16 Oct Dublin 3Arena
18 Oct Glasgow OVO Hydro
19 Oct Newcastle Utilita Arena
20 Oct Leeds First Direct Arena
21 Oct Manchester AO Arena
23 Oct Cardiff International Arena
24 Oct Nottingham Motorpoint Arena
26 OctBirmingham Utilita Arena
27 OctLondon The O2
28 OctLondon The O2 Matinee
28 OctLondon The O2
29 OctBirmingham Utilita Arena

Watch the music video for ‘These Are The Days’ on YouTube.

S Club - These Are The Days

About the author