Jessie Buckley & Bernard Butler Release New Track, ‘Footnotes On The Map’

The track is taken from the album ‘For All Our Days That Tear The Heart’, set for release June 17.

Jessie Buckley and Bernard Butler have released new single, ‘Footnotes on the Map’, the fourth to be lifted from their eagerly-awaited debut album, ‘For All Our Days That Tear The Heart’. Destined to become a live favourite, it’s a spirited and irrepressible track that builds from tender beginnings to a euphoric crescendo.

The opulent richness of Jessie’s lower register, redolent of Karen Carpenter at times, commands the opening bars. Then her voice floats majestically over the tidal push and pull of the song, leading us through the storm like a beacon. Through the peaks and troughs comes the call-and-response, performed on the track by Bernard Butler and guest vocalist Sam Lee.

“There’s no fear without courage,” she sings as each line is repeated back to her: “A sense of what’s left behind or to come / Just a drift in a moment / A float in the storm.” Those voices converge alongside the string section, marshalled by the brilliant Sally Herbert, effectively launching Jessie’s hard-won love lessons into the blue.

The song was inspired in part by the historian Robert McFarlane, who writes about the way walking reinforces our spiritual connection to the land around us.

“In Aboriginal lore,” said Bernard recently, “there’s a belief that people mapped their immediate environment in song. Each step was a note in a song that represented a journey. And that’s a hugely powerful idea.”

The Academy Award nominated actress and singer, and the Brit Award winning producer and musician, recently announced another live show at Lafayette in London on Fri June 17, which sold out quickly. It follows their debut live show at the Green Note in Camden last month which received rave reviews including five stars from the Telegraph and the Evening Standard and four stars in the Times.

More dates will be announced soon. Meanwhile, ‘Footnotes on the Map’ was one of the featured songs when they appeared on BBC’s ‘Later with Jools’ last Saturday. You can watch both performances here.

‘For All Our Days That Tear The Heart’ is released on EMI Records on 17 June 22.

Album tracklisting;

01 – The Eagle & The Dove

02 – For All Our Days That Tear The Heart

03 – 20 Years A-Growing

04 – Babylon Days

05 – Seven Red Rose Tattoos

06 – Footnotes On The Map

07 – We’ve Run The Distance

08 – We Haven’t Spoke About The Weather

09 – Beautiful Regret

10 – I Cried Your Tears

11 – Shallow The Water

12 – Catch The Dust

Keep up-to-date with Jessie Buckley and Bernard Butler online on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

About the author

There’s a lot of music out there - good music. At Essentially Pop our remit is that we cover music that deserves to be heard, with a particular focus on independent artists. That doesn't mean we won't cover your old favourites - rather we hope to give you some new favourites as well.

We no longer accept unpaid PR agency work. We believe the creative arts have value, and this includes writing. As always, we will write about artists who contact us - or who we contact - for free - but we can no longer work free of charge for PR agencies. We work hard, we put in a lot of hours writing, and we ask that you respect that. Contact us for our very reasonable rates.

Follow us on: Twitter, Google+, Tumblr, Pinterest, Instagram, Myspace, Facebook, Spotify, Youtube. Drop us an email on