Franz Ferdinand - Photo courtesy of Domino Records

Franz Ferdinand Announce Greatest Hits Album ‘Hits To The Head’ And Share New Track ‘Billy Goodbye’

Franz Ferdinand have announced ‘Hits To The Head’, a 20-track greatest hits collection showcasing the world-conquering success of the band’s career to date.

Set for release on Friday March 11th 2022 on Domino, ‘Hits To The Head’ also features two brand-new tracks “Billy Goodbye” and ‘Curious’, produced by Alex Kapranos, Julian Corrie and Stuart Price (Dua Lipa, Madonna, Pet Shop Boys). The video for ‘Billy Goodbye’ was directed by Diane Martel, Alex Kapranos and Ben Cole.

Watch the video for ‘Billy Goodbye’ here. Pre-order ‘Hits To The Head’ HERE.

Armed with an astute sense of what constitutes the “classic pop song” (famously proclaiming that they write music “to make girls dance to”) the music of Franz Ferdinand continues to resonate globally, and over the course of nearly two decades they’ve become, commercially and critically, one of the biggest UK bands in the world, selling over 10 million albums, 1.2 billion streams to date, 14 platinum albums, winning Brit, Ivor Novello, Mercury Prize awards, Grammy nominations and selling 6 million tickets for their incendiary live show worldwide.

Track listing:

1. Darts Of Pleasure

2. Take Me Out

3. The Dark Of The Matinée

4. Michael

5. This Fire

6. Do You Want To

7. Walk Away

8. The Fallen

9. Outsiders

10. Lucid Dreams

11. Ulysses

12. No You Girls

13. Right Action

14. Evil Eye

15. Love Illumination

16. Stand On The Horizon

17. Always Ascending

18. Glimpse Of Love

19. Curious

20. Billy Goodbye

‘Hits To The Head’ is available on CD, deluxe CD, double gatefold 2LP, limited edition indies only gatefold red 2LP, limited edition  exclusive gatefold gold 2LP vinyl and cassette. CD and LP formats feature extensive liner notes from JD Beauvallet (former editor of Les Inrockuptibles) and exclusive, unseen photographs.  The album is also available digitally.

Talking about the process of picking tracks for the album, lead singer Alex Kapranos said:

It’s the same as writing a set-list for a festival: you want to play the songs you know people want to hear. The hits. Bring the hits to the head. The heart. The feet. That means obvious singles, but also songs you know have a special meaning for both band and audience like Outsiders. We also added two new songs, recorded last year: ‘Billy Goodbye’ and ‘Curious’, both co-produced at the last stage with Stuart Price. I have friends who believe you’re somehow not a “real” fan if you own a best of rather than a discography. I disagree. I think of my parents’ record collection as a kid. I loved their compilation LPs. I am so grateful that they had ‘Changes’ or ‘Rolled Gold’. Those LPs were my entrance point. My introduction.

Franz Ferdinand signed to Domino in May 2003 and released their first single ‘Darts Of Pleasure’ shortly after. Second single ‘Take Me Out’ exploded onto the international stage, putting the band firmly on the global map and was a precursor to their eponymous debut album, which went on to sell nearly four million copies worldwide.

Artistically always forging forward, their following albums, ‘You Could Have It So Much Better’ (2005), ‘Tonight: Franz Ferdinand’ (2009), ‘Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action’ (2013) and ‘Always Ascending’ (2018), all offered a new take on the Franz template and saw them work with some of the most pioneering producers around including Dan Carey, Joe Goddard and Alexis Taylor of Hot Chip, Todd Terje and Philippe Zdar.  Having headlined festivals including Reading & Leeds, Rock En Seine, Primavera and All Points East, Franz Ferdinand will be announcing details of major live shows in the near future.

Find Franz Ferdinand and their music online on their official websiteInstagram, Facebook, and Twitter.

About the author

There’s a lot of music out there - good music. At Essentially Pop our remit is that we cover music that deserves to be heard, with a particular focus on independent artists. That doesn't mean we won't cover your old favourites - rather we hope to give you some new favourites as well.

We no longer accept unpaid PR agency work. We believe the creative arts have value, and this includes writing. As always, we will write about artists who contact us - or who we contact - for free - but we can no longer work free of charge for PR agencies. We work hard, we put in a lot of hours writing, and we ask that you respect that. Contact us for our very reasonable rates.

Follow us on: Twitter, Google+, Tumblr, Pinterest, Instagram, Myspace, Facebook, Spotify, Youtube. Drop us an email on