Red Rum Club Dunes Shot - photo credit Sam Crowston

Brilliant New Video From Red Rum Club For Latest Song ‘Ballerino’

Following hot on the heels of beloved single and BBC Radio 2-playlisted, ‘Eleanor’, the world becomes a dancefloor in the hands of Liverpool six-piece Red Rum Club, as they release the second single, ‘Ballerino’ from their newly announced second album, ‘The Hollow of Humdrum’, which is set for release on 2 October.

June single, ‘Eleanor’ launched the band further into national consciousness with its playlist position on BBC Radio 2, having initially caught the ears of presenters, Sara Cox and OJ Borg, and – also gaining plays across BBC 6 Music with Chris Hawkins and Steve Lamacq, plus international plaudits from the Netherlands (3FM and Kink FM) and the United States (LA’s KCRW) .

That, and ‘Ballerino’, are the first tastes of ‘The Hollow of Humdrum’, released on Fri 2 October 2020. Promising a total of ten, brand-new tracks recorded at Liverpool’s legendary Parr Street Studios, Red Rum Club locked-in with producer Chris Taylor (Blossoms, The Coral), to lay down the optimistic, energetic and insightful follow up to the debut that launched them to the world.

‘Ballerino’ is an ode to the person that’s always up dancing first, and is the fruit of the band’s collaborative, brotherly culture, with lead singer, Fran Doran, painting himself into the song with his rallying-call lyrics. Unashamed cheerleaders for finding and holding on to the good times, the band layers meaning into their feelgood songcraft to tackle toxic masculinity and the fear of really letting go.

Reflecting on ‘Ballerino’, which is just one of the album’s highlights, Doran says,

“I am always the fool that gets up first at a wedding, the ‘ballerino’ is me. The way I see it is that if I’m dancing, then I don’t know what you’re doing sitting there, you should be too. Ultimately, it’s about boys not dancing and that sense of unnecessary, toxic masculinity that stops people expressing themselves. It’s like a Billy Elliot story, just forget what anyone else thinks and dance!”

With ‘Eleanor’ dealing with mental health and wrapping arms around loved ones, and Ballerino challenging concepts of modern masculinity, the band’s rapid growth in lyrical and musical confidence is plain for all to hear.

At the same time, the band look ahead with typical optimism to 2021 and announce a huge, 27-date UK Tour, including a hotly-anticipated Liverpool homecoming headline date, shows finally rescheduled from the band’s postponed 2020 tour, plus seven dates in support of Circa Waves.

Remaining tickets for rescheduled dates go on sale from Fri 20 August 2020, with 2021 headline tour available from 10am on Mon 24 August 2020. For pre-sales and all other ticket information visit www.redrumclub.com. All of Red Rum Club’s confirmed, upcoming live dates are as follows:

  • Wed 10 Feb       Newcastle, Riverside
  • Thu 11 Feb         Glasgow, King Tut’s
  • Fri 12 Feb           Hull, The Adelphi
  • Sat 13 Feb          Manchester, Club Academy
  • Mon 15 Feb       Sheffield, O2 Academy 2
  • Tue 16 Feb         Huddersfield, The Parish
  • Wed 17 Feb       Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
  • Thu 18 Feb         Birmingham, O2 Institute 3
  • Sat 20 Feb          Bedford, Esquires
  • Sun 21 Feb         Oxford, Academy 2
  • Mon 22 Feb       Cardiff, Clwb Ifor Bach
  • Tue 23 Feb         London, Lafayette
  • Thu 25 Feb         Brighton, Patterns
  • Fri 26 Feb           Truro, Old Bakery
  • Sat 27 Feb          Exeter, The Cavern
  • Sun 28 Feb         Bournemouth, The Anvil
  • Tue 2 Mar          York, The Crescent
  • Thu 4 Mar          Glasgow, Academy*
  • Sat 6 Mar           Liverpool, Mountford Hall*
  • Tue 9 Mar          Leicester, O2 Academy*
  • Wed 10 Mar      London, O2 Academy Brixton*
  • Fri 12 Mar          Keele, Keele University*
  • Sat 13 Mar         Norwich, Waterfront*
  • Sun 14 Mar        Cardiff, Tramshed*
  • Tue 16 Mar        Bristol, Thekla
  • Wed 17 Mar      Milton Keynes, The Craufurd Arms
  • Thu 18 Mar        Blackpool, Bootleg Social
  • Sat 17 Apr          Liverpool, Mountford Hall

*supporting Circa Waves

For further release information and details of all Red Rum Club’s upcoming live shows, including booking links, connect with the band online on their official website, Facebook, and Twitter. Stream and download ‘Ballerino’ here. Watch the video below:

About the author

There’s a lot of music out there - good music. At Essentially Pop our remit is that we cover music that deserves to be heard, with a particular focus on independent artists. That doesn't mean we won't cover your old favourites - rather we hope to give you some new favourites as well.

We no longer accept unpaid PR agency work. We believe the creative arts have value, and this includes writing. As always, we will write about artists who contact us - or who we contact - for free - but we can no longer work free of charge for PR agencies. We work hard, we put in a lot of hours writing, and we ask that you respect that. Contact us for our very reasonable rates.

Follow us on: Twitter, Google+, Tumblr, Pinterest, Instagram, Myspace, Facebook, Spotify, Youtube. Drop us an email on hello@essesntiallypop.com

Leave a Reply

Please help us with running costs – donate here

%d bloggers like this: