Simply Red Reveal New Track ‘Complete Love’ Ahead Of New Album ‘Blue Eyed Soul’ Out November 8th And UK/Eire 2020 Tour (Including Two O2 London Dates)

Following the announcement of a second London O2 Arena date, Simply Red today reveal new soulful track ‘Complete Love’. The song is the fourth to be released from Mick Hucknall and his band’s highly anticipated forthcoming album, ‘Blue Eyed Soul’ – released on BMG on November 8th.

Listen to ‘Complete Love’:

Simply Red - Complete Love (Official Audio)

A soulful ode from a loving husband and father to the two most important women in his life, Mick Hucknall’s vocal on ‘Complete Love’ playfully works in a call and response way with the bewitching brass section and sweet strings. On the track, Mick commented,

“As I was reflecting on my own life I thought about how I have a wife and daughter who love me, and I feel that it’s complete now. I’ve been loved, and that’s what we all want more than anything in life; to be loved.”

Simply Red play the following UK dates, including two in London on 24 and 25. Additionally they shall also be performing at Dublin’s 3Arena on 13 October. Tickets are on sale now and can be bought here.

Hotel and exclusive VIP package options are available, including limited edition Simply Red merchandise.


6 – NEWCASTLE, Utilita Arena
7 – HULL, Bonus Arena
9 – GLASGOW, SSE Hydro
10 – LEEDS, First Direct Arena
11 – LIVERPOOL, M&S Bank Arena
13 – DUBLIN, 3Arena
16 – BIRMINGHAM, Resorts World Arena
17 – MANCHESTER, Arena
18 – NOTTINGHAM, Motorpoint Arena
20 – CARDIFF, Motorpoint Arena
21 – BRIGHTON, Centre
23 – BOURNEMOUTH, International Centre
24 – LONDON, The O2
25 – LONDON, The O2

Recorded in London at British Grove Studios, all ten tracks of ‘Blue Eyed Soul’ were written by Mick Hucknall and produced by long time collaborator Andy Wright.

He’s got blue eyes and a soulful voice, and it’s Hucknall’s remarkable voice that takes centre stage on this record.

“I wanted to push my voice a little harder, challenge it a little bit, give myself something to really sing to.”

The results are simply sensational. Recorded as live, with few overdubs, ‘Blue Eyed Soul’ drew on inspiration from classic funk and soul: James Brown, Bobby ‘Blue’ Bland, Wilson Pickett, Dyke and the Blazers and Tower of Power.

Simply Red have over a billion hits on YouTube, and have sold over 60 million albums since forming over thirty years ago. Holding back the years indeed.

“At this stage of my career, I could do one of those dark reflective albums looking back on my life and all that kind of stuff that people tend to do at a certain age,” Mick Hucknall admits. “But I thought sod that! I wanted to make something punchy. I want to have a good time.”

And that’s exactly what you get throughout ‘Blue Eyed Soul’, satisfaction guaranteed.

Find Simply Red online on their official website.

About the author

There’s a lot of music out there - good music. At Essentially Pop our remit is that we cover music that deserves to be heard, with a particular focus on independent artists. That doesn't mean we won't cover your old favourites - rather we hope to give you some new favourites as well.

We no longer accept unpaid PR agency work. We believe the creative arts have value, and this includes writing. As always, we will write about artists who contact us - or who we contact - for free - but we can no longer work free of charge for PR agencies. We work hard, we put in a lot of hours writing, and we ask that you respect that. Contact us for our very reasonable rates.

Follow us on: Twitter, Google+, Tumblr, Pinterest, Instagram, Myspace, Facebook, Spotify, Youtube. Drop us an email on