‘a-ha: Down To The Tracks’ – Comprehensive New Book By Barry Page About a-ha Including Track By Track Detail Of Each Album

‘a-ha: Down To The Tracks’ is set for release shortly through This Day In Music Books. The book sees author Barry Page take a look at the extraordinary 40 year musical odyssey of arguably the most famous group ever to come out of Norway, and after ABBA, of Scandinavia.

Fans and non-fans alike will enjoy ‘a-ha: Down To The Tracks’, which is available to pre-order now for the limited edition hardback, which will be individually numbered 1-1000 and signed by Barry Page, the author. All copies of this edition will come with a special collectable 7 inch vinyl single, which includes previously unreleased song, ‘Miss Eerie’. The track was demoed by Bridges (the precursor to a-ha which counted Pål Waaktaar-Savoy and Magne Furuholmen among its members) is an embryonic version of ‘Take On Me’, and was later referred to by Morten Harket as ‘The Juicy Fruit Song’.

‘a-ha: Down To The Tracks’ sees Barry Page tell the story of a-ha from a range of perspectives, and takes a fresh look at the story, using a mix of archived interviews and reviews, as well as exclusive contributions from a-ha’s Magne Furuholmen and Pål Waaktaar-Savoy, plus Dag and Jørun Bøgeberg, Viggo Bondi, Pål H. Christiansen, Anneli Drecker, Espen Farstad, Zoë Gnecco, Erik Hagelien, Matt Letley, Sven Lindvall, Robert Alan Morley, Tini Flaat Mykland, Martyn Phillips, Mark Saunders, Tonje Waaktaar Gamst, Harald Wiik and more.

The book also showcases each a-ha album in track-by-track detail, and takes a comprehensive look at both the band’s pre-fame years and each of the three members’ side projects, up to and including the release of Magne Furuholmen’s revered new solo album, ‘White Xmas Lies’.

Watch the promo video:

A-ha: Down To The Tracks

A lifelong fan of a-ha – he even shares his birthday with Morten Harket – Barry Page has written a number of popular articles about the band and their various side projects, some of which were shared by a-ha on their social media.

Page was commissioned in 2018 by a-ha guitarist and songwriter Pål Waaktaar-Savoy to write extensive liner notes for the special vinyl edition of ‘Våkenatt’, the second album by Bridges, which had achieved mythological status among fans.

Based in Sussex, Barry Page has written for monthly music magazine, ‘Record Collector’, as well as websites such as ‘The Electricity Club’, which covers both classic and contemporary electronic music.

Visit here to pre-order ‘a-ha: Down To The Tracks’ and for more information about the book.

About the author

Lisa has been writing for over 20 years, starting as the entertainment editor on her university newspaper. Since then she's written for Popwrapped, Maximum Pop, Celebmix, and ListenOnRepeat.

Lisa loves all good music, with particular fondness for Jedward and David Bowie. She's interviewed Edward Grimes (Jedward), Kevin Godley, Trevor Horn, Paul Young, Peter Cox (Go West), Brendan B Brown (Wheatus), Bruce Foxton (The Jam), among many many more. Lisa is also available for freelance writing - please email lisa@essentiallypop.com