OMD New Album ‘The Punishment Of Luxury’ Set For Release September 1 Ahead Of UK & Eire Tour

Synth-pop pioneers OMD return with their dazzling 13th studio album ‘The Punishment of Luxury’ which sees them combine the wistful nostalgia and idealised romance of their previous work while stepping out of their comfort zone. The LP is out September 1st on 100% Records.

The follow up to the critically acclaimed ‘English Electric’ (released in 2013), ‘The Punishment Of Luxury’ is a daring collection of stylish synth pop and masterful songwriting which will certainly rank alongside their very best. 

Written, recorded, produced and mixed by OMD – Andy McCluskey and Paul Humphreys – the album is the sound of a band in their prime. 

“On this album we have managed to make beautiful things out of noises and repetitive patterns”, explains Andy. “The trouble is, we just can’t help but write a catchy melody!”

The album takes its name from an 1891 painting by the Italian Giovani Segantini and contains everything from the Kraftwerkian ‘Isotype’ and ‘Robot Man’ to the blue eyed soul ballads of ‘One More Time’ and ‘The View From Here’ as well as more traditional OMD songs like ‘Kiss Kiss Kiss Bang Bang Bang’ and the synth heavy title track.

Described by The Quietus as “not just one of the best synth bands ever – they are one of the best bands ever”, OMD’s influence has become ubiquitous. The xx, the Killers, and LCD Soundsystem’s James Murphy have cited OMD as an inspiration, and the likes of Future Islands and Chvrches show traces of OMD’s DNA.

OMD - La Mitrailleuse

Having played a triumphant sold out show at the Royal Albert Hall in May last year, OMD head back out on the road again this autumn for a string of must-see shows, including a show at The Roundhouse November 13th.

OMD play:

October 2017

Mon 23rd DUBLIN Vicar Street

Tues 24th BELFAST Mandella Hall

Sun 29th LIVERPOOL, Empire   

Mon 30th BRISTOL, Colston Hall   



Weds 1st SOUTHEND, Cliffs Pavilion   

Thurs 2nd IPSWICH, Regent 

Fri 3rd CAMBRIDGE, Corn Exchange 

Sun 5th LEICESTER, De Montfort Hall 

Mon 6th NOTTINGHAM, Royal Concert Hall 

Tues 7th SHEFFIELD, City Hall   

Thurs 9th READING, Hexagon 

Fri 10th SOUTHAMPTON, O2 Guildhall 

Sat 11th GUILDFORD G Live 

Mon 13th LONDON, Roundhouse 

Weds 15th BEXHILL, De La Warr Pavilion 

Fri 17th MANCHESTER, Academy 

Sat 18th YORK, Barbican 

Sun 19th GLASGOW, Royal Concert Hall   

Tues 21st BIRMINGHAM, Symphony Hall 

Weds 22nd GATESHEAD, Sage 1 

Tickets available here

Full tracklisting for ‘Punishment of Luxury’ below

  1. The Punishment of Luxury
  2. Isotype
  3. Robot Man
  4. What Have We Done
  5. Precision & Decay
  6. As We Open, So We Close
  7. Art Eats Art
  8. Kiss Kiss Kiss Bang Bang Bang
  9. One More Time
  10. 10)La Mitrailleuse
  11. 11) Ghost Star
  12. 12) The View From Here

About the author

There’s a lot of music out there - good music. At Essentially Pop our remit is that we cover music that deserves to be heard, with a particular focus on independent artists. That doesn't mean we won't cover your old favourites - rather we hope to give you some new favourites as well.

We no longer accept unpaid PR agency work. We believe the creative arts have value, and this includes writing. As always, we will write about artists who contact us - or who we contact - for free - but we can no longer work free of charge for PR agencies. We work hard, we put in a lot of hours writing, and we ask that you respect that. Contact us for our very reasonable rates.

Follow us on: Twitter, Google+, Tumblr, Pinterest, Instagram, Myspace, Facebook, Spotify, Youtube. Drop us an email on

Leave a Reply