January Zero – ‘The Long Radio Silence’

‘The Long Radio Silence’ is the debut release by January Zero, a musical collective created by Gareth Phillips.

Gareth started writing and recording music while still at college, and followed this with a Masters In Fine Arts at George Mason University, just outside Washington DC. ‘The Long Radio Silence’ is seven songs which evolved over an in-depth journey of discovery, and was recorded as a series of demos at his home studio, The Cellar, then mixed and produced by Jim Roll, from Backseat Productions, at Ann Arbor Michigan. The album also features the percussion skills of Dan Piccolo.

The tracks take their inspiration from the likes of David Lynch, TS Eliot, and Guy DeBord, and the album takes its title from the length of time the album took from conception to completion, with a reference also to society’s lack of connection, while at the same time being constantly “plugged in” to technology. The songs are fluid and diverse, concentrating in turn on instrumentation then lyrics, rich and multi-layered.

Gareth Phillips and January Zero are currently recording their second LP, which is set for release in spring 2018.

You can buy ‘The Long Radio Silence’ from Bandcamp, and stream it on Spotify. Find January Zero online on Twitter and Facebook.

About the author

Lisa has been writing for over 20 years, starting as the entertainment editor on her university newspaper. Since then she's written for Popwrapped, Maximum Pop, Celebmix, and ListenOnRepeat.

Lisa loves all good music, with particular fondness for Jedward and David Bowie. She's interviewed Edward Grimes (Jedward), Kevin Godley, Trevor Horn, Paul Young, Peter Cox (Go West), Brendan B Brown (Wheatus), Bruce Foxton (The Jam), among many many more. Lisa is also available for freelance writing - please email lisa@essentiallypop.com

Leave a Reply