Post Death Soundtrack: ‘The Unlearning Curve’

The follow up to their previous album, ‘Music As Weaponry’, Post Death Soundtrack will release ‘The Unlearning Curve’ on 27 May.

The Canadian trip hop/psych rock trio are an inter-city music collective, made up from Kenneth Buck, Steve Moore, and Jon Ireson. Starting in Calgary in 2007 by Buck and Moore, they now collaborate across the country, between Vancouver, Calgary and Toronto. Their music is part electronic, part industrial, part pop and rock.

2008 saw the release of their debut album, ‘Music And Weaponry’, which took its influence from the likes of Massive Attack and Skinny Puppy. The album was met with critical acclaim, and was described by Sphere Magazine as,

“a chaotic concoction of crossover madness”


“this is the soundtrack to your escape from the average”.

The band cites among their influences the post 1967 era Beatles, and David Bowie, among others. Second song on ‘The Unlearning Curve’ in fact reminds us a lot of the title track from Bowie’s final album, ‘Blackstar’, with its Eastern and mystical intonations.

‘The Unlearning Curve’ uses a lot of imagery and the aforementioned mysticism, with Alice (in Wonderland) a common theme. We’re swept up by the beauty of the lyrics and music: ‘Dance With The Devil’, the penultimate song on the album is a swirling cacophony of synths and percussions:

“You clung to me on the inside

Oh frightened child with your eyes so wide”

‘The Unlearning Curve’ comes after a three year hiatus for the band, and was recorded at a number of studios, mostly in Vancouver. Mastered at Suite Sound Labs, Vancouver, it features as its album cover an original painting by Toronto artist, Kayla Aileen Brown. The band will release the album as a free download, as well as on limited edition vinyl.

Check out the first two releases from the album, ‘That Which Is’, and ‘You Can’t Go Back’, the first and second tracks on ‘The Unlearning Curve’.

All songs were written by Kenneth Buck, Steve Moore, and Jon Ireson, with the exception of ‘Through The Gates’, which was additionally written by Colin Everall. Vocals provided by Steve Moore and Kenneth Buck, and the album was produced and engineered by Kenneth Buck and Jon Ireson.

You can find Post Death Soundtrack online on Bandcamp, Facebook, Instagram, and Soundcloud. Visit their website for more information about the band, as well as free music.

Check out Kayla Brown’s artwork on her Instagram.

About the author

Lisa has been writing for over 20 years, starting as the entertainment editor on her university newspaper. Since then she's written for Popwrapped, Maximum Pop, Celebmix, and ListenOnRepeat.

Lisa loves all good music, with particular fondness for Jedward and David Bowie. She's interviewed Edward Grimes (Jedward), Kevin Godley, Trevor Horn, Paul Young, Peter Cox (Go West), Brendan B Brown (Wheatus), Bruce Foxton (The Jam), among many many more. Lisa is also available for freelance writing - please email

Leave a Reply