Lucinda Williams Shares New Track ‘Lost Girl’ Taken From Netflix Original Movie ‘Lost Girls’

Ahead of the release of her anticipated new album ‘Good Souls Better Angels’, out April 24th on Thirty Tigers, Lucinda Williams has shared ‘Lost Girl’ taken from the acclaimed Netflix movie ‘Lost Girls‘. The heartbreakingly beautiful track, which premiered on Pitchfork, was written by Lucinda and is co-produced with her husband Tom Overby and recorded at Hollywood’s Capitol Studios.

Speaking of the track Lucinda said,

“we were very lucky with the amazing band that we were able to put together on very short notice. Within two or three days we had Benmont Tench and Steve Ferrone from the Heartbreakers and Val McCallum, who plays in Jackson Browne’s band, as well as Blake Mills, who used to play in my band several years ago. It was truly an amazing band. I think it was all just meant to be”.

"Lost Girl" by Lucinda Williams

Lucinda plays the following UK and Ireland dates.


Fri 14th IRELAND, DUBLIN, Vicar Street
Sat 15th BELFAST, Limelight 1
Sun 16th IRELAND, KILKENNY, St Canice’s Cathedral
Tues 18th WALLASEY, Floral Pavilion Theatre
Thurs 20th CAMBRIDGE, Junction
Sat 22nd GLANUSK PARK, Green Man Festival

In 2014 and 2015, Williams released two critically acclaimed double albums back to back with Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone and The Ghosts Of Highway 20, respectively. Both releases found her experimenting with arrangements, vocals, song structure and personal subject matter.

On ‘Good Souls Better Angels’, Williams changes course and chooses to forgo the personal and narrative-based songcraft that has become synonymous with her name and instead speaks to some of the injustices permeating our society. The new songs cut straight to the core with frank and honest commentary on domestic abuse (‘Wakin’ Up’), the constant barrage of news (‘Bad News Blues’) the dangerous, quick to judge and convict aspects of social media (‘Shadows & Doubts’) and the haunting reality of the ‘Man Without A Soul’.

Lucinda recorded Good Souls Better Angels backed by her remarkable, long time band, featuring Butch Norton (drums), Stuart Mathis (guitar) and David Sutton (bass). The rock- solid unit propels the music with both fire and finesse, particularly on the raw blues number ‘You Can’t Rule Me’, which kicks off the album with equal parts attitude and swing.

Good Souls Better Angels also features some of Williams’ most intimate and up front vocals on record. She addresses the pain of depression on the achingly beautiful ‘Big Black Train’, and tenderly delivers a poignant song of hope with ‘When The Way Gets Dark’.

She encourages us to push forward on the path of promise and perseverance on the deeply soulful and moving album closer ‘Good Souls’. ‘Good Souls Better Angels’ marks the first time Williams’ husband/manager Tom Overby is credited as a co-writer on many of the new songs. The album was co-produced by Williams, Overby and Ray Kennedy, who last worked with Williams on her 1998 landmark album ‘Car Wheels On A Gravel Road’.


1. You Can’t Rule Me
2. Bad News Blues
3. Man Without a Soul
4. Big Black Train
5. Wakin’ Up
6. Pray the Devil Back to Hell
7. Shadows & Doubts
8. When the Way Gets Dark
9. Bone of Contention
10. Down Past the Bottom
11. Big Rotator
12. Good Souls

LP Only (Side D):
1. Bad News Blues (Acoustic Demo)
2. Pray the Devil Back to Hell (Acoustic Demo)
3. You Can’t Rule Me (Acoustic Demo)
4. Man Without a Soul (Acoustic Demo)
5. Wakin’ Up (Acoustic Demo)

Find out more about Lucinda Williams on her official website.

About the author

There’s a lot of music out there - good music. At Essentially Pop our remit is that we cover music that deserves to be heard, with a particular focus on independent artists. That doesn't mean we won't cover your old favourites - rather we hope to give you some new favourites as well.

We no longer accept unpaid PR agency work. We believe the creative arts have value, and this includes writing. As always, we will write about artists who contact us - or who we contact - for free - but we can no longer work free of charge for PR agencies. We work hard, we put in a lot of hours writing, and we ask that you respect that. Contact us for our very reasonable rates.

Follow us on: Twitter, Google+, Tumblr, Pinterest, Instagram, Myspace, Facebook, Spotify, Youtube. Drop us an email on