Clara Sanabras Announces Album ‘Fugue To The Floating World’ To Be Released 3 May With Launch At Wilton Music Hall London 2 May

Clara Sanabras has announced that her new album, ‘Fugue to the Floating World’  will be released on 3rd May. A stunningly diverse collection of songs, it was written as a meditation on the transient world of love and magic.

‘Fugue to the Floating World’ has a lush and unique cinematic folk sound, an otherworldly quality which at times brings to mind artists such as Joni Mitchell, Kate Bush, Anna Calvi, and The Cocteau Twins.

Featuring Irish guitarist Jimmy Smyth, the album is a collection of confessional love songs, its title derived from several meanings – the concept of a fugue as both a musical form, and the mental state of a ‘fugitive mind’as well as descriptions throughout several cultures of ‘the floating world’ drawn from eastern literature through to Lewis Carroll’s Wonderland. 

Such imagery pushes the boundaries of folk music allowing for a colourful and vibrant, yet never obtuse sonic exploration, taking in elements of Jungian psychology, archetypal mythology, and ancient teachings.

Clara describes the album’s core theme as being a discussion on escapism:

…the unconscious, pitting the urge to fly free against the need for solid ground beneath our feet.”

Written whilst also collaborating with legendary The Kinks songwriter Sir Ray Davies on a 50th anniversary reimagining of The Village Green Preservation Society, ‘Fugue To The Floating World’ the latest in a formidable and diverse repertoire that demonstrates a uniquely versatile artist.

The physical album also comes with a book of Clara’s drawings, lyrics, and stunning watercolours, that complete the meaning of the songs and the story of ‘Fugue to the Floating World’.

Clara Sanabras has released 4 previous albums of original music in different languages, as well as appearances on movie soundtracks such as ‘The Hobbit’‘The Hunger Games’‘Snow White and The Huntsman’, and performing as part of the ‘Titanic-Live’ concerts; where she was the lead vocal soloist.

Having performed in prestigious venues all over the world including The Barbican, The Royal Albert Hall, The Kremlin, Buckingham Palace, Sydney Opera House, La Scala Milan, Glastonbury, and Tokyo Casals Hall, Clara has also collaborated with the likes of Nigel Kennedy, Jarvis Cocker, Simon Schama.

Clara will be launching her album on May 2nd at London’s famed Wilton Music Hall, performing material from ‘Fugue to the Floating World’ and her previous albums alongside special guests to be announced.

Buy tickets to Album Launch Show at London Wilton Music Hall HERE. You can find out more about Clara Sanabras online on Facebook, Twitter, and her official website.


  1. Helium Horses
  2. Worldspinner
  3. The Words
  4. The Water
  5. Maybe She’ll Wake
  6. Hear the Lightning, See the Thunder
  7. Cloud in a Poem
  8. Ballad of the Inseparables
  9. Mapmaker
  10. Solid Ground
Helium Horses - Clara Sanabras

About the author

There’s a lot of music out there - good music. At Essentially Pop our remit is that we cover music that deserves to be heard, with a particular focus on independent artists. That doesn't mean we won't cover your old favourites - rather we hope to give you some new favourites as well.

We no longer accept unpaid PR agency work. We believe the creative arts have value, and this includes writing. As always, we will write about artists who contact us - or who we contact - for free - but we can no longer work free of charge for PR agencies. We work hard, we put in a lot of hours writing, and we ask that you respect that. Contact us for our very reasonable rates.

Follow us on: Twitter, Google+, Tumblr, Pinterest, Instagram, Myspace, Facebook, Spotify, Youtube. Drop us an email on

Leave a Reply