‘Teen Spirit’ Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Set For April 5 Release On Interscope Records

On April 5, Interscope Records will release ‘Teen Spirit’ Original Motion Picture Soundtrack. In the film – which screened at the 2019 SXSW Film Festival, and opens in April – Elle Fanning plays Violet, a shy teenager who dreams of escaping her small town, and pursuing her passion to sing.

With the help of an unlikely mentor, she enters a local singing competition that will test her integrity, talent and ambition. Making his directorial debut, Max Minghella creates a modern fairytale, scored to a lush pop soundtrack.

Elle Fanning’s soaring rendition of the iconic Robyn song, ‘Dancing On My Own’, has been released, along with the first official clip.

The album is available to pre-order now.

 The 14-track collection also includes Fanning’s covers of songs by such preeminent female artists as Ellie Goulding (‘Lights’), Annie Lennox (‘Little Bird’), Tegan and Sara (‘I Was A Fool’), and Sigrid (‘Don’t Kill My Vibe’). Additionally, it features ‘Wildflowers’, a new song written by Carly Rae Jepsen and Jack Antonoff.

Fanning is joined by cast members on ‘Good Time’, which was a 2x Platinum hit for Owl City and Carly Rae Jepsen. Clara Rugaard, who plays a fellow contestant, covers ‘Tattooed Heart’, a song from Ariana Grande’s 2013 album, ‘Yours Truly’. The original versions of No Doubt’s, ‘Just A Girl’, Grimes’ ‘Genesis’, and feat. MØ & DJ Snake, also appear on the soundtrack.

Fanning put months of work into preparing for the role, working closely with executive music producer Marius de Vries and performing all the singing live. In addition to de Vries, the team assembled by Fred Berger included music supervisor Steven Gizicki and music co-producer Eldad Guetta, who had also worked with Berger on La La Land. (The La La Land soundtrack, released by Interscope Records in 2016, won a GRAMMY® Award.)

‘Teen Spirit’ stars Elle Fanning (‘The Beguiled’, ’20th Century Women’), Zlatko Buric (‘Pusher’, ‘2012’) and Rebecca Hall (‘Christine’, ‘The Gift’). Directed and written by Max Minghella (‘The Social Network’, ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’) and produced by Fred Berger (‘La La Land’, ‘Destroyer’). Executive Producers are Jamie Bell (‘Billy Elliot’, ‘Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool’), Max Minghella, Brian Kavanaugh-Jones (‘I Think We’re Alone Now’, ‘Insidious’ film series), David Garett (‘Step Up’, ‘Happy-Go-Lucky’), Dan Fisher (‘Low Tide’), John Janick, Steve Berman, Anthony Seyler, Mickey Liddell (‘Jackie’, ‘I Can Only Imagine’) and Pete Shilaimon (‘Anthropoid’, ‘Megan Leavey’). Michael C. Constable (‘Free Fire’, ‘How to Build a Bird’) served as Co-Producer.

Teen Spirit Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Tracklisting:
1. Grimes – Genesis
2. Elle Fanning – I Was A Fool
3. Marius de Vries & Eldad Guetta (feat. Elle Fanning) – E.T.
4. No Doubt – Just A Girl
5. Elle Fanning – Dancing On My Own
6. Elle Fanning – Lights
7. Elle Fanning – Little Bird
8. Major Lazer – Lean On (feat. MØ & DJ Snake)
9. Elle Fanning, Teen Spirit Finalists – Good Time
10. The Shades – Teenage Kicks
11. Clara Rugaard – Tattooed Heart
12. Elle Fanning – Don’t Kill My Vibe
13. Orbital (feat. Elle Fanning) – Halycon
14. Elle Fanning – Wildflowers


About the author

There’s a lot of music out there - good music. At Essentially Pop our remit is that we cover music that deserves to be heard, with a particular focus on independent artists. That doesn't mean we won't cover your old favourites - rather we hope to give you some new favourites as well.

We no longer accept unpaid PR agency work. We believe the creative arts have value, and this includes writing. As always, we will write about artists who contact us - or who we contact - for free - but we can no longer work free of charge for PR agencies. We work hard, we put in a lot of hours writing, and we ask that you respect that. Contact us for our very reasonable rates.

Follow us on: Twitter, Google+, Tumblr, Pinterest, Instagram, Myspace, Facebook, Spotify, Youtube. Drop us an email on hello@essesntiallypop.com