Margo Price Returns With Defiant New Album ‘All American Made’ Out October 20th

Margo Price has announced the October 20th release of her new album ‘All American Made’ on Third Man Records.  Delivering on the promise of her critically acclaimed 2016 debut ‘Midwest Farmer’s Daughter,’ – an album that took her from country underdog to breakout star – Margo raises the stakes considerably on ‘All American Made,’ offering twelve new, original songs that explore long nights and hard days, wild women and cocaine cowboys, politics and sexism, with plainspoken poetry and cutting insight.

Sessions for ‘All American Made’ commenced shortly after the 2016 election with Margo and her hard-touring band – Kevin Black (bass), Jamie Davis (electric guitar), Micah Hulscher (piano), Jeremy Ivey (acoustic guitar/bass/harmonica), Dillon Napier (drums), and Luke Schneider (pedal steel) – returning to Memphis to work at Sam Phillips Recording, just down the street from the original Sun Studios where she cut her debut.  Once again, Grammy-winner Matt Ross-Spang and Alex Munoz helmed the sessions, co-producing with Price and Ivey.

It proved an incredibly fruitful period, yielding over thirty new songs. From those, Price selected all the tracks that appear on ‘All American Made’ plus her recent surprise-release ‘Weakness’ EP, which earned praise from the New York Times, NPR and Pitchfork, who hailed the title track’s “fiery country-soul” and “gritty momentum.”  You can see the video for ‘Weakness’ here:

Real-deal country music may be the most prominent touchstone on ‘All American Made,’ with the genre’s éminence grise Willie Nelson dueting with Margo on the heart-stopping ‘Learning to Lose’, but touches of classic soul and R&B inform many of the arrangements here, fusing two of Tennessee’s greatest musical exports. The funky ‘Do Right By Me’ grooves with gospel legends The McCrary Sisters on backing vocals, and the driving ‘A Little Pain’ features sweeping orchestration by Memphis legend Lester Snell (the man responsible for the string arrangements in ‘Shaft’). Margo has also announced her ‘Nowhere Fast’ headline tour for early 2018, in addition to fall festivals and shows with Tim McGraw and Faith Hill, Willie Nelson, Chris Stapleton, and Eric Church. Margo will announce UK touring plans shortly.

Leave a Reply